Corey B. King
2 min readOct 2, 2021

--

I Quit Today

It’s been a long time coming! After months of battling MS (Multiple Sclerosis), gambling with my health, and working without a pay raise in eight years (Yes, you read that correctly), I gave my notice to my Department Chair that I will not be returning next semester.

Why now? I’m no longer effective! Why now? Some days, I am physically unable to stand on my feet, much less lecture non- stop for four plus hours. Why now? Because at 45, (I just had a birthday) it’s now or never to pursue some of those book projects that I never had the time to due to the endless amount of papers to grade from my 7–8 classes, 170 plus students. Why now? I have just enough online gig work to keep me busy and pay my bills, but enough time and energy left to pursue the creative parts of me that feed my soul.

I’m not gone yet. I still have nearly eight weeks left in the semester, but I can see the horizon, and it feels good.

What’s next? Who knows, but what is not next, running like a hamster in a never ending wheel, with no destination in sight. Will I get those writing projects done? Maybe, maybe not! Will I reboot my podcast? If y’all run me some coins first (I’m kidding, not really, self-financing a podcast is expensive).

Whatever I do, it will be free of obligation or duty! It’s my time! Hallelujah, somebody…stay tuned!

--

--

Corey B. King

Writer, Professor. Published my second book, I Have Some Shit to Say, memoir/essay collection in 2018! You can find me on Twitter at @coreybking