Corey B. King
3 min readMar 29, 2024

--

I Needed A Miracle

I hadn’t felt good for weeks. Each time that I ate a meal, I would be in the bathroom fifteen minutes later, vomiting its contents. My stomach became so unsettled that the only thing that I could keep on my stomach was Wendy’s chilli and a chocolate frosty. The headaches were raging to the point that I was living on 6–8 Excedrin daily just to get a little ease. At night, I had terrible insomnia. I would usually fall asleep around 5am, and sleep for about three hours. What’s worse, each time I would urinate, only blood would come out. It got so bad, that I purchased Depends, so I wouldn’t soil my underwear and clothing. It was a major chore just to walk downstairs from my bedroom to lie on my living room couch.

On March 29th, 2022, I decided it was time to visit the doctor. My sister drove me to urgent care, about a mile from our home. Once I was called back to the examination portion, they checked my blood pressure, which at the time registered at 244/144. At this point, the nurse summoned the doctor on call, and he instructed me that due to my elevated blood pressure, they couldn’t treatment, and I need to go to the nearest emergency room.

I didn’t like the nearest hospital, Moses Cone, so I asked my sister to take me to Wesley Long. When I arrived, my blood pressure was still registering at 244/144. They obtained some basic information from me, and place me in a triage room. After what seemed like hours, they instructed me that I wasn’t going home. Unknown to me, I had suffered two strokes, had a small aneurysm, had pneumonia, and I was in the last stage of…

--

--

Corey B. King

Writer, Professor. Published my second book, I Have Some Shit to Say, memoir/essay collection in 2018! You can find me on Twitter at @coreybking